South Carolina Philharmonic: The Rite of Spring

Morihiko NakaharaSeveral of the greatest figures in Russian musical history provide the selections featured in this edition of Carolina Live.  The concert’s title is The Rite of Spring, and that groundbreaking work by Igor Stravinsky is performed by the South Carolina Philharmonic, which also presents a Suite from Cinderella by Sergei Prokofiev. But first, the music begins with Modest Mussorgsky’s Night on Bald Mountain, in a re-orchestration by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov played by the South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra. It’s powerful music for any season on Carolina Live.


Modest Mussorgsky: Night on Bald Mountain
South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra
Neil Casey, conductor

Sergei Prokofiev: Suite from Cinderella
South Carolina Philharmonic
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring
South Carolina Philharmonic
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Maurice RavelString Quartet in F
Tesla Quartet:
Ross Snyder, violin
Michelle Lie, violin
Edwin Kaplan, viola
Serafim Smigelskiy, cello