Carolina Classics 2010 June 16

From WDAV Classical Public Radio, and South Carolina ETV Radio, welcome to Carolina Classics…featuring another complete Chamber Music concert from the Spoleto Festival USA. You'll hear pieces from Biber, Haydn, Schubert, Rachmaninoff, and Stravinsky.
Listen to the entire program:

danphillipsA Sonata for Violin and Continuo
Featuring the 17th-century version of “mad country fiddling” by Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber. Fiddling up a storm at the Dock Street theatre was Daniel Phillips, joined by “rhythm section” of cellist Alisa Weilerstein, and harpsichordist Pedja Muzijevic.

HEINRICH IGNAZ BIBER: Sonata for Violin and Continuo
Daniel Phillips, violin; Alisa Weilerstein, cello; Pedja Muzijevic, harpsichord

A highly entertaining Trio in G major, written around 1790 by Franz Joseph Haydn. Coming from the Dock Street Theatre, a performance played by flutist Tara Helen O’Connor, cellist Alisa Weilerstein, and Pedja Muzijevic, this time playing the piano.

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN: Trio in G major, Hob. XV: 15
Tara Helen O'Connor, flute; Alisa Weilerstein, cello; Pedja Muzijevic, piano

sf-alisaweilersteinThe Sonata for Cello and Piano
Written in Decembeer of 1901 by Sergei Rachmaninoff. From the Dock Street Theatre by cellist Alisa Weilerstein, playing her seventh Spoleto season. And joining her on the piano, her frequent recital partner Inon Barnatan, who’s making his very first Spoleto Festival appearances.

SERGEI RACHMANINOFF: Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op. 15
Alisa Weilerstein, cello; Inon Barnatan, piano

The Unfinished Symphony
The “Unfinished” symphony by Schubert, in a performance by the USC Symphony Orchestra, in concert at the Koger Center in Columbia, South Carolina.

FRANZ SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8 in B minor, D. 759
Donald Portnoy, conductor, USC Symphony Orchestra

Van Cliburn competition winner Haochen Zhang in concert at the Halton Theatre in Charlotte. He plays “Three movements from Petrouchka” by Igor Stravinsky.

IGOR STRAVINSKY: Three Movements from Petrouchka
Haochen Zhang, piano